• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 204 other subscribers
  • Calendar

    March 2011
    M T W T F S S
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Usually Kind Reader Interaction

    Phillips, Jim on Why Men Don’t “Che…
    moodyfastlane on Parenting is a Boring Ble…
    expastor2014 on Focus on the Preached One, not…
    Bob Bixby on Elder Authority, Discipline, S…
    Bob Bixby on Elder Authority, Discipline, S…
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

Music for the Soul

“So Saul was refreshed and was well. . .” (1 Samuel 16:23).

David’s soothing music of praise had a calming effect on the troubled spirit of King Saul. Often on Saturday nights when I am trying to de-clutter my brain and spirit I feel troubled. Noise jangles my spirit. The noise of corruption. The noise of busy-ness. The noise of frenetic and hectic schedules. The noise of disillusionment with self. The noise of failure. The noise of spiritual battle. The noise of pressure. The noise of looming responsibilities. The noise of weakness.

And the spirit feels troubled.

That’s when music, quiet music, calm music, sacred music becomes a balm to my raw soul. The music that pleases the soul in these times is a quiet music, one that doesn’t have the thump and beat of flurry of today’s noise. And so I turn to my sources for conservative and sacred and sacred classical music.

One place that I’d like to share with you is Abiding Radio, a ministry of Brookside Baptist Church in Wisconsin. The music is conservative, light, and soothing. I cannot recommend all of the music. It sometimes jangles with superficiality as well. But, in the main, one can bank on finding here the kind of music that refreshes the spirit in quiet praise. And you can access it at anytime online. I thank God for the calming ministry Abiding Radio has had on my soul. Thank you, Brookside Baptist.

Check it out. Abiding Radio Online.