Slow to Hear God’s Roar

I’m back. Thanks, Joy, for posting on this site. I have so much that I have learned, am excited about what we can do, humbled by how we helped, and ready to share with you what I now know that I don’t know exactly how to start. I will be sharing with you a number of personal stories and insights over the next few days.

Today, however, Mark Garard and I will show our slides and talk about our mission in the Sunday School hour. In the morning service I will stay on track with our Hebrews series. Tonight I am preaching at Calvary Baptist Church in Normal, Illinois (Pastor Ralph Wingate). I have been on the schedule for some time to preach for their missions emphasis month. Katrina came in the meantime. Therefore, my message will be a response to Katrina entitled, “A Storm of Opportunity.” It will include a study of providence and then a close examination of God’s call to Jonah.

In the meantime, let me point you toward my favorite preacher, Mark Minnick, who preached a sermon in response to Katrina for his congregation which he entitled “Slow to Hear God’s Roar”.

