• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 207 other followers

  • Calendar

    February 2005
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
  • Usually Kind Reader Interaction

    moodyfastlane on Parenting is a Boring Ble…
    expastor2014 on Focus on the Preached One, not…
    Lori on I am Rachel Dolezal
    godcentered on I am Rachel Dolezal
    Dave on I am Rachel Dolezal
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

Antioch Model

We are praying to the Lord of the Church to enable our local church to follow that Antioch Model. Since we have completed the Tsunami Series, I am going to take advantage of the break between series to preach a message on our philosophy as a local church. Here is a bare-bones outline:


1. The Context of the Antioch Model – the local church. “in the church that was there (Acts 13:1)
2. The Constituency of the Antiochan Church – many leaders. “prophets and teachers” (Acts 13:1; 15:35).
3. The Character of the Antiochan leaders –
There was (a) Christ-focused service. “ministering to the Lord” (13:2).
There was (b) Consensual self-denial. “fasting”
There was (c) Commissioning by setting-apart. “they set apart Paul” (13:3)
4. The Consonance (same sound) of the Antiochan Church – They prayed.
5. The Coordinator of the Antiochan Work – The Holy Spirit.
6. The Commission Orientation of the Antiochan Church – Their east/west outreach.

This and the practical implications and creative applications that follow explain our desire. I have never done this before, but I gave our church the outline days before the message. I wonder if they’ll be more eager to hear the explanation of it??

2 Responses

  1. Yes, we were eager and also blessed by this message. I’ve been trying to sum up in conversations with friends and family members exactly why I so cherish my church. Now I’m just going to be sending the cd to help explain. But this message, along with the Sunday night series, has truly convicted me about the seriousness of my own personal walk. It is frightening to consider that I am quite capable of being the Achan that would hold back God’s blessing on our church.

  2. I enjoyed this message, too.

    Although, as you are already aware, I’m still trying to figure out why we do alliteration at all. If there are more than 3 points, then statistically speaking, alliteration doesn’t help us remember the points any better — in fact, it can have the opposite effect!

    Sorry. I can’t help it — the word-lover in me cries out against tragic exploitation of any kind, but especially alliteration. In poetry, subtle alliteration can be cool in small doses. In preaching, on the other hand—ok, I’ll shut up now.

    All right. =}
    I hope you know I’m just giving you a hard time. (Mostly.) I’m really only commenting so that I can test out the new changes I just made to the notify system. Have a swell time at the conference. We are praying for you.

Comments are closed.

