• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 207 other followers

  • Calendar

    April 2004
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   Jul »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Usually Kind Reader Interaction

    moodyfastlane on Parenting is a Boring Ble…
    expastor2014 on Focus on the Preached One, not…
    Lori on I am Rachel Dolezal
    godcentered on I am Rachel Dolezal
    Dave on I am Rachel Dolezal
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

Shall I for Fear of Feeble Man

Shall I, for fear of feeble man,
The Spirit’s course in me restrain?
Or, undismayed, in deed and word
Be a true witness for my Lord?

Awed by a mortal’s frown, shall I
Conceal the Word of God Most High?
How then before Thee shall I dare
To stand, or how Thine anger bear?

Shall I, to soothe the unholy throng,
Soften Thy truths, and smooth my tongue,
To gain earth’s guilded toys, or flee
The cross, endured, my God, by Thee?

What then is he whose scorn I dread,
Whose wrath or hate make me afraid?
A man! An heir of death! A slave
Of sin! A bubble on the wave!

(The first four of ten verses by Johann J. Winkler translated by John Wesley)

